UPDATE #63 - COVID-19 October 16, 2020 (5:00 PM)
Bal Harbour Village continues to monitor the data and information relative to Coronavirus (COVID-19) to provide our residents with the most up-to-date information. Our decisions and efforts continue to be measured, driven by the best available recommended medical advice and guidance, and in conjunction with Miami-Dade County, the Florida Department of Health, and the U.S. Centers for Disease Control (CDC).
Before we provide you with the COVID-19 updates, we would like to share with you that the annual “King Tides” are impacting Bal Harbour Village as well as all low-lying and coastal areas.
This most recent batch of high tides runs from October 14 through October 21, according to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). These annual tides are naturally high as a result of the influence of the moon and the Guld Stream. The peak times of the tides for the next few days are as follows:
- Friday, October 16 – 9:46 a.m. and 10:02 p.m.
- Saturday, October 17 – 10:37 a.m. and 10:50 p.m.
- Sunday, October 18 – 11:27 a.m. and 11:38 p.m.
- Monday, October 19 – 12:18 p.m.
- Tuesday, October 20 – 12:29 a.m. and 1:11 p.m.
- Wednesday, October 21 – 1:22 a.m. and 2:07 p.m.
As a reminder, there are several things that you can do to protect yourself, loved ones and our community from COVID-19, including:
- Wear a facial covering when in public
- Keep a safe social distance from others
- Wash your hands often and thoroughly
- Avoid confined and crowded places
Miami-Dade County Updates Emergency Order 30-20 Regarding Curfew
Miami-Dade County’s countywide curfew has been amended effective October 12, 2020 and is now in place from 12:00 Midnight to 6:00 a.m. daily in an effort to curtail late-night activities that facilitate the spread of the virus. Violators will be cited with a second-degree criminal misdemeanor that sets a maximum $500 fine and/or 180 days in jail. Per the Governor’s Order suspending all fines and penalties applied to individuals for violating the County’s COVID-19 public health orders, Miami-Dade County will continue to issue civil citations for individuals not wearing masks and will process fines and penalties, and collect on these fines when the State Order expires and allows the County to do so.
Miami-Dade County Updates Emergency Orders and New Normal Guide as the State of Florida Enters Phase 3 of the State’s Recovery COVID-19 Plan
Miami-Dade County is complying with Florida State Executive Order 20-244 under the statewide opening rules set forth by Governor Ron DeSantis, while keeping in place elements of the County’s orders that protect the residents of Miami-Dade County during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Please review the County’s revised New Normal Guidebook for the updated rules as they pertain to particular businesses. All businesses, including essential businesses such as grocery stores, pharmacies and construction companies, must continue to comply with the County safety rules as outlined in the updated Guide to help to continue to prevent the spread of the virus.
Miami-Dade County Emergency Order 30-20
Effective September 26, 2020, and in conformance with the Governor of Florida’s Executive Order Number 20-244, this Order 30-20 rescinds County Emergency Orders 01-20; 16-20, as amended; and 28-20, as amended; and authorizes every retail and commercial establishment and any other establishment or facility in the County to open provided that each such establishment complies with specific capacity, social distancing and other requirements, including the applicable activity-specific requirements in the New Normal Handbook, as amended; the facial covering requirements in Emergency Order 20-20, as amended; and the entry of County or municipal personnel onto the establishment’s property for the sole purpose of inspection for compliance with this order. Specific to restaurants and other food service establishments, this order permits a minimum occupancy of 50 percent, without limitation, and states that these establishments shall be allowed to operate at up to 100 percent capacity if the restaurant: (1) ensures six feet of distance between tables; (2) ensures that no more than six persons (or ten persons if in the same household) sit at a table; and (3) ensures that persons not actively eating or drinking are wearing masks.
In summary, this most recent County Order requires the following:
MASKS & DISTANCING
At minimum, all businesses should ensure masks are worn by employees and the public at all times, and that work areas and showrooms are set up to promote physical distancing of at least 6 feet.
RESTAURANTS, BARS & CLUBS
In keeping with the Governor’s Order, the County’s 50 percent capacity limits for restaurants will remain in place as a minimum, with the expansion of more than 50% capacity allowed for restaurants and other venues that can accommodate more tables while also keeping a 6-foot separation between tables. Restaurants can reach 100 percent capacity by including outdoor table service where practicable. The maximum seating per table indoors or outside continues - no more than six people per table or up to ten from the same household. For restaurants and bars that do not have sufficient floor space for tables to reach the 50 percent capacity minimum, they will be allowed to set tables closer together to reach the 50 percent minimum. Bars with only counter service will be allowed to reach 50 percent capacity with seating that is separated at the bar as far as possible between parties being served to reach a minimum of 50 percent capacity. Clubs that include dancing must require that masks be worn on the dance floor. Eating and drinking will be allowed only at tables.
CURFEW & FINES
Miami-Dade County’s countywide curfew was amended effective October 12, 2020 and is in place from 12:00 Midnight to 6:00 a.m. daily in an effort to curtail late-night activities that facilitate the spread of the virus. Violators will be cited with a second-degree criminal misdemeanor that sets a maximum $500 fine and/or 180 days in jail. Per the Governor’s Order suspending all fines and penalties applied to individuals for violating the County’s COVID-19 public health orders, Miami-Dade County will continue to issue civil citations for individuals not wearing masks and will process fines and penalties, and collect on these fines when the State Order expires and allows the County to do so.
Miami-Dade County Amendment No. 2 to Emergency Order 29-20
Effective October 1, 2020, this order amends Emergency Order 29-20 to allow for team competitions in all sports and to clarify that that facial coverings will be required in parks and other outdoor spaces with certain exemptions. The order states that facial coverings shall not be required while actively engaging in an organized sport, playing tennis, or while swimming or otherwise in a pool, ocean, or other body of water. For purposes of this exemption, organized sport means a sport such as soccer, baseball, basketball, softball, boxing, and other recognized sport that is part of an established athletic league or part of an organized program (municipal or otherwise). The facial covering exemption for organized sports includes training and practice sessions and matches, but prior to commencing and immediately upon concluding a training or practice session or a match, individuals must wear facial coverings. Individuals who are exercising in their personal capacity and not training as part of an organized sport (i.e., participating in a regular fitness class, using gym equipment as part of a workout, including with a personal trainer or coach, or playing a sport for leisure, excepting tennis) do not fall within the definition of "organized sport" and are not exempted from using facial coverings. All persons, except for members of the same household, shall observe social and physical distancing, both within groups and with others. Bleachers shall not be open to spectators where sports team formal competitions and league play is permitted. The order also allows the opening of playgrounds and other mechanical equipment, so long as all high-touch surfaces are cleaned and disinfected daily at least daily with CDC-approved cleaners, and facial coverings must be worn and social/physical distancing between people from different households must be maintained.
Miami-Dade County Order 28-20 Relative to Entertainment Venues
Effective September 18, 2020, Miami-Dade County Carlos A. Gimenez signed amendments to earlier orders allowing the opening of several types of entertainment venues. Amendment No. 1 to Emergency Order 28-20allows the opening of movie theaters, concert houses, convention spaces, auditoriums, playhouses, bowling alleys, arcades, and indoor amusement facilities at 50 percent capacity. All venues must strictly follow rules set in the New Normal Guidebook. This amendment allows for indoor consumption of food and beverages within movie theaters, concert houses, convention spaces, auditoriums, playhouses, bowling alleys, arcades, casinos, and indoor amusement facilities, but only in designated areas. This amendment also allows for live performances, provided performers are no less than 10 feet from patrons at all times and such patrons observe such performances from tables or stationary seats.
Miami-Dade County Contract Tracing App
On September, 16, 2020, Miami-Dade County formally launched its new contact-tracing app called “CombatCOVID MDC.” Available in English, Creole and Spanish, this new app will help keep the County’s community healthy while also building trust so that local businesses can continue to re-open. Palm Beach County is also using the same app, and Broward is considering implementing it, so there will be synergy throughout South Florida. This secure app requires no personal information. And no GPS or location data is tracked. All information is encrypted to meet security protocols.
The app incorporates Bluetooth connections to anonymously notify users if they have been near another person who has downloaded the app and has self-reported being positive for COVID-19. If the app indicated potential exposure, users are urged to isolate and get tested immediately, because even people who feel fine can spread the virus to loved ones and those at high risk of getting severely ill. If a user does test positive, the app discretely alerts others to get tested without ever disclosing the identity of the app user. The free CombatCOVID MDC app can be downloaded from the Apple Store for iPhone use, and the Google Store for androids. It operates in the cellphone’s background, so users just need to be sure that they do not swipe it off when closing other applications. It needs to remain open in the background to continue working. This app complements contact tracing conducted by the Florida Department of Health, whose contact tracers are reaching out by phone to those who test positive in order to help them protect others.
Miami-Dade County Order Relative to Masks and Face Coverings
This Order also remains in place. Amendment 1 to Emergency Order 2020 which requires that all persons throughout Miami-Dade County wear a mask, or other facial covering, at all times when in public or public spaces, including common areas in residential and commercial buildings. Masks, and other facial coverings, shall not be required:
- inside a person’s private residence or home;
- inside a private automobile;
- at, or inside, any religious institution, without limitation;
- inside a hotel, motel, or commercial lodging establishment guest room, or inside any apartment/condominium unit;
- for children under the age of two years;
- due to a medical condition;
- of an individual who is hearing impaired or an individual who is communicating with an individual who is hearing impaired;
- where safety or health regulations prohibit the wearing of facial coverings;
- of persons actively engaged in strenuous physical activity, either inside or outdoors (please note:Amendment No. 2 To Miami-Dade County Emergency Order No. 26-20 requires that masks/face coverings must be worn in gyms and fitness centers regardless of activity level);
- of persons swimming or engaged in other activities which may cause the facial covering to become wet;
- while persons are actively eating, drinking, or smoking; and, while a person is receiving services, which require access to that person’s nose or mouth.
For our updated Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ’s), please visit: https://bit.ly/2GX043f.